Google search engine
HomeSportCricketGlenn Maxwell added to Australia's Test squad to face Sri Lanka |...

Glenn Maxwell added to Australia’s Test squad to face Sri Lanka | Cricket News – Times of India

COLOMBO: Glenn Maxwell might make a shock return to Test cricket subsequent week after the harm-plagued Australians added the white-ball star to their squad to face Sri Lanka.
With Travis Head unsure and Ashton Agar all however dominated out of the Test collection opener in Galle on Wednesday, Maxwell is within the combine to put on his Baggy Green for the primary time in 5 years as per
Head, who was named participant of the boys’s Ashes earlier this 12 months, suffered a hamstring harm earlier this week within the ODI collection whereas Agar is carrying a aspect pressure and has recognized the second Test (additionally in Galle) as an earliest potential return date.
Along with Maxwell, Mitch Marsh and Josh Inglis are the opposite choices to take up Head’s No.5 berth if the left-hander doesn’t regain health in time.
Jon Holland, Matthew Kuhnemann and Todd Murphy in the meantime will all stay in Sri Lanka “to assist the Test match preparations and to develop their experience in subcontinent conditions” although none of that spin-bowling trio have but been added to the squad.
All three have performed for Australia A on their concurrent tour, whereas Kuhnemann has been promoted to the ODI crew for the Aussies’ final three video games as a substitute for Agar.
Maxwell’s recall is a present of religion in his functionality in opposition to spin bowling given he has not performed a primary-class recreation in two years and eight months amid his important restricted-overs commitments. All 4 of the 33-12 months-outdated’s Tests have come on the subcontinent.
Sri Lanka Test squad (provisional): Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Pathum Nissanka, Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis, Mohamed Shiraz, Shiran Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshitha Rasanjana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya, and Suminda Lakshan.
Australia Test squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Glenn Maxwell, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, and David Warner.

Source hyperlink



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

English हिन्दी
%d bloggers like this: