Google search engine
HomeSportCricketIPL 2022 | Hyderabad continues to rise, hands Gujarat its first defeat 

IPL 2022 | Hyderabad continues to rise, hands Gujarat its first defeat 

Williamson, Abhishek lead the chase after bowlers prohibit Titans to 162 for seven; Bhuvneshwar, Natarajan shine; Hardik’s knock not sufficient

Williamson, Abhishek lead the chase after bowlers prohibit Titans to 162 for seven; Bhuvneshwar, Natarajan shine; Hardik’s knock not sufficient

A disciplined bowling effort adopted by skipper Kane Williamson’s (57, 46b, 2×4, 4×6) masterful planning of the chase helped Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Gujarat Titans by eight wickets within the IPL on the D.Y. Patil Stadium on Monday.

In a throwback to the model Sunrisers used to observe a number of years in the past, its bowlers did the heavy lifting by limiting Titans to 162 for seven.

Sunrisers’ route to victory relied on not dropping early wickets. Openers Abhishek Sharma and Williamson did simply that by being watchful within the first 4 overs.

Williamson first pulled Mohammed Shami for a 4 and a six within the fifth over earlier than Abhishek (42) went after Lockie Ferguson, hitting the pacer for 4 boundaries by the off-side.

The Sunrisers skipper picked his moments to tackle the bowlers, first hitting Hardik for 2 sixes earlier than going after Ferguson by scooping him over fine-leg to deliver up his half-century in model. After Williamson’s dismissal, Nicholas Pooran took cost by scoring a quickfire unbeaten 34 (18b, 2×4, 2×6) as Sunrisers registered their second consecutive win.

Failing to speed up

Earlier, requested to bat by Williamson, Titans began properly by reaching 51 for 2 within the PowerPlay however struggled to speed up within the second half of the innings.

This, regardless of skipper Hardik Pandya (50 n.o., 42b, 4×4, 1×6) scoring his first half-century of the season and remaining unbeaten.

The India all-rounder began at a brisk tempo however couldn’t land the large pictures, particularly towards T. Natarajan’s correct yorkers in the direction of the top of the innings. Titans managed simply 82 within the final 10 overs after being 80 for 3 on the midway stage.

Hardik started with a straight drive off Natarajan earlier than being hit on the helmet by a fast bouncer from Umran Malik. He then hit Malik for 2 consecutive boundaries — a punch by covers and a pull by midwicket.

When Hardik smashed Aiden Markram for a six over long-on, it seemed like he was prepared to shift gears. However, he managed only one extra boundary in his innings.

In the preliminary a part of Titans’ innings, Bhuveshwar Kumar couldn’t get his radar proper and conceded 17 runs in his first over, together with a few wides that went for fours. However, the skilled seamer struck in his second over, eradicating Shubman Gill who was caught brilliantly by a diving Rahul Tripathi at cowl. Matthew Wade’s poor run continued as he was trapped in entrance by Malik; the Aussie was overwhelmed for tempo off a supply that was bowled from across the wicket.

Though Washington Sundar went wicketless, the off-spinner and Marco Jansen turned issues round for the 2016 champion in the course of the center overs, drying up the runs for Hardik and David Miller. The South African failed to strike a single boundary throughout his 15-ball keep.

Abhinav Manohar chipped in with a cameo (35, 21b, 5×4, 1×6) in a fortuitous knock — he was dropped thrice and had three edged boundaries. His innings gave Titans one thing to defend, however it was barely aggressive.


Matthew Wade lbw b Umran 19 (19b, 3×4), Shubman Gill c Tripathi b Bhuvneshwar 7 (9b, 1×4), Sai Sudharsan c Williamson b Natarajan 11 (9b, 2×4), Hardik Pandya (not out) 50 (42b, 4×4, 1×6), David Miller c Abhishek b Jansen 12 (15b), Abhinav Manohar c Tripathi b Bhuvneshwar 35 (21b, 5×4, 1×6), Rahul Tewatia run out 6 (4b, 1×4), Rashid Khan b Natarajan 0 (1b); Extras (lb-2, w-20): 22; Total (for seven wkts. in 20 overs): 162.

1-24 (Gill, 2.2 overs), 2-47 (Sudharsan, 5.4), 3-64 (Wade, 7.6), 4-104 (Miller, 13.3), 5-154 (Abhinav, 18.5), 6-161 (Tewatia, 19.4), 7-162 (Rashid, 19.6).

Bhuvneshwar 4-0-37-2, Jansen 4-0-27-1, Washington 3-0-14-0, Natarajan 4-0-34-2, Umran 4-0-39-1, Markram 1-0-9-0.

Abhishek Sharma c Sudharsan b Rashid 42 (32b, 6×4), Kane Williamson c Tewatia b Hardik 57 (46b, 2×4, 4×6), Rahul Tripathi retired damage 17 (11b, 1×4, 1×6), Nicholas Pooran (not out) 34 (18b, 2×4, 2×6), Aiden Markram (not out) 12 (8b, 1×4); Extras (b-1, lb-2, w-3): 6; Total (for 2 wkts. in 19.1 overs): 168.

1-64 (Abhishek, 8.5 overs), 2-129 (Williamson, 16.1).

Shami 4-0-32-0, Hardik 4-0-27-1, Ferguson 4-0-46-0, Rashid 4-0-28-1, Nalkande 2.1-0-22-0, Tewatia 1-0-10-0.

Toss: SRH; MoM: Williamson.

Sunrisers gained by eight wickets with 5 balls to spare.

Source hyperlink



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

English हिन्दी
%d bloggers like this: