Google search engine
HomeSportCricketIPL 2022: Explained: R Ashwin's sensational retired out decision - Here's what...

IPL 2022: Explained: R Ashwin’s sensational retired out decision – Here’s what the rules say | Cricket News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Rajasthan Royals premier spinner Ravichandran Ashwin grew to become the first participant to be ‘retired out’ in Indian Premier League (IPL) historical past. Ashwin, who scored a superb 28 off 23 balls towards Lucknow Super Giants, willingly walked off the discipline in the nineteenth over, declaring himself retired out, to permit Riyan Parag to hitch the massive-hitting Shimron Hetmyer in the center.
Rajasthan Royals Director of Cricket, Kumar Sangakkara, mentioned Ashwin dealt with the match scenario rather well by ‘retiring out’ at the proper time.
“It was the right time to do that,” Sangakkara mentioned at the put up-match press convention. Ashwin himself was asking from the discipline as nicely and we had mentioned simply earlier than that as to what we’d do,” Sangakkara said at the post-match press conference.

Rajasthan Royals won the match by 3 runs.
This move surprised a lot of people because not too many perhaps knew of the existence of this rule.

The Royals had in fact discussed this strategy in their pre season chats and in Sunday decided to enforce this as per a joint on and off field decision to send in a batter so they thought could be a more effective pinch hitter in those circumstances.
While some might think that the move is a strange one, it’s within the rules and on Sunday the end result was the Royals winning the match by a narrow margin.
Riyan Parag smashed 8 runs off 4 balls.
According to the MCC laws of cricket:
25.4.1 A batter may retire at any time during his/her innings when the ball is dead. The umpires, before allowing play to proceed, shall be informed of the reason for a batter retiring.
25.4.2 If a batter retires because of illness, injury, or any other unavoidable cause, that batter is entitled to resume his/her innings. If for any reason this does not happen, that batter is to be recorded as ‘Retired – not out’.
25.4.3 If a batter retires for any reason other than as in 25.4.2, the innings of that batter may be resumed only with the consent of the opposing captain. If for any reason his/her innings is not resumed, that batter is to be recorded as ‘Retired – out’.
25.4.4 If after retiring a batter resumes his/her innings, subject to the requirements of 25.4.2 and 25.4.3, it shall be only at the fall of a wicket or the retirement of another batter.
Shahid Afridi – Pakistanis vs Northants Tour Match, 2010
R Ashwin – Rajasthan Royals vs Lucknow Super Giants IPL 2022
Sonam Tobgay – Bhutan vs Maldives T20I, 2019
Sunzamul Islam – Cumilla Warriors vs CC, BPL 2019

Source hyperlink



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

English हिन्दी
%d bloggers like this: